That KDE 4 Again

Peoples……

I must say that KDE 4 is just great.  It has definitely come a long way from where it started so long ago.  I have installed the SVN code as of March 17th (a day before my great spring break trip to CO).  The desktop is fluid and the plasmoids are actually working pretty solidly now.  Also missing are the plasma crashes.  So without further ado……  The screenshot….

My Current KDE desktop

In this shoot I have have a total of 6 desktop plasmoids running.  On the left I have the standard analug clock on top with a CPU meter on the bottom with the flickr plasmoid running in the middle.  On the right side of the screen I have from top to bottom the microblogging plasmoid setup for Twitter.com, the RememberTheMilk plasmoid, and then finally a folder view plasmoid to highlight common;y used documents.  I notice there are a few problems with some of the plasmoids.  For instance in the microblogging plasmoid when I make a post it shows up on the list but then even an hour later it still shows it as posted just a minute ago.  The RTM plasmoid crashes when I try to drag and drop the tasks between the priorities more than once, the first one works fine.  As far as the folder view plasmoid goes, it is just great.  The only problem here with this plasmoid is that I do not know how to adjust the grid parameters.  It seems that I should be able to put three icons there instead of two without it going to the next line down.  In addition to that I think that it would be great if you could have totally flexable zoom in that plasmoid.

Now one other thing that I would like to see is some sort of layout tool for the desktop with respect to the plasmoids.  For instance.  On the left I would like to be able to align the three plasmoids by their centers and then even group them so that when I move them around the center align stays the same.  You could set that up so many different ways.  I think that it would be cool.  I think that I should submit that as a wish in the bug database.

So, if yo have not not moved to KDE4, and I know that you are out there….  Just do it!  You will really thank yourself in the end.  Anyway, back to my work….

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in Cool Stuff, KDE, Linux and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That KDE 4 Again

  1. Pingback: That KDE 4 Again « Twitter @ Information-Source-Online.Com

Leave a Reply

