KDE4.2 (and stuff)

Well,  it has been a while since I made a blog entry and it seems like so much stuff has happened since the 4th.  I will have to spend some time and make some other posts related to these other ventures.  Today I have hit a point where I am very happy with my desktop.  It is the past few days that have been very hard to deal with.  Lets go back to there.  Last Thursday I decided to update my SVN version of KDE.  Version 4.1 had just been released and I should have known that the trunk of the KDE SVN tree would be come very unstable.  When I got into work on Friday I was welcomed by a black screen, no doubt a Plasma problem.  In trying to debug the problem I inadvertently deleted my entire .kde directory.  So then to fix that problem I rebooted with a boot disk, ran reiserfsck to recover the removed files (which was unsuccessfully by the way), and then finally rebooted back in the next morning.  When I booted back in I found that my file system was just corrupted…….

What a deal, one small problem, to a slightly larger problem, to the problem of all problems.  I was forced to do a reinstall.  This took me since then to now to get what I wanted.  A fresh gentoo install using the paludis package manager and an install of KDE trunk from SVN.  What a beautiful system.  It has been a long road to toll but I think that the end result is defiantly worth it.  Here is a screenshot of my desktop.

Here…

What a nice looking system.  I am very excited about what is coming from the KDE developers.  I think that some of their ideas are wonderfull.  In the screenshot above I have just a few plasmoids running, the analog clock and then three folderviews.  Two of the folderviews (for my work) are on the left side of the screen while there is one spanning the bottom for my downloads.  I am running compiz fusion which is handling all the nice effects.  I know that kwin has its own but I think that compiz is just more polished.  You will see that I have no friends in my Kopete window (a great app).  I have the new firefox running with the iFox Graphite (version 3.0.1) theme running.  The background I got from Deviant Art and is called Conquer the World.

The end result is that now I am back up and running.  What a good feeling….

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in KDE, Linux and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KDE4.2 (and stuff)

  1. D'Arcy says:

    Alright, I didn’t know where to post this question, but you have a picture of a completely demolished laptop in your photo gallery. HOW????

    • Now, now… demolished is a bit strong. That was Evan’s laptop. I was repairing the hinge. I think that I might need to do the same to mine since it is getting up there in the years. Hell, my battery is even starting to act weird. But I did repair it and I did get the machine back together. What a fun evening that was. There is nothing like taking a screwdriver to a piece of hardware…

Leave a Reply

