4th of July Weekend

I felt it prudent to write up a post on my past weekend. My friends and I went to my parents house for the 4th of July, where we set off a lot of fireworks, and then proceeded to checkout the Current River on Saturday and Sunday. What a trip this has been. The 4th of July party happens every year at my house but I have missed of for like 4 years now due to my work in the Chicago area. While it sounds simple on the surface it gets quite complex when things are said and done. Clean this, clean that… Fix this, and then fix that…. The joy happens in the early afternoon of the 4th when I get to lounge around the pool and wait for people to arrive. BBQ, swimming, and fireworks consumed the rest of the evening. One of the main reasons for this post is so that other people can see the photos of the trip. I love to share you know. You can actually view the full resolution photos on the flickr site. I have placed a small slideshow of the photos here in the blog entry for convenance. It should be stated that the majority of these photos came from a friend of mine Pablo Palafox and his wife who were there and a lot more active with his camera that I was with mine. (Thanks guys)





The trip was wonderful. I have been to this river many times in the past and it seems that each time I go I have just as much fun if not more that I did before. The route that we took is shown below.

This trip had a lot of firsts for the people that went along. For some it was floating and for some it was camping. For me it was having a solo canoe. I have done it one time before in the past for like a mile, but this was different. I was going to have to do the entire trip this way, and sitting in the back not the middle. I must say that the experience was better than I thought. I got the hang of it pretty quick and only kind of ran into trouble at one spot in the river.

We found a lot of really cool stuff along the river. One of the coolest that I found was Merritt Rock Cave towards the end of the float (about 2 miles or so from Round Spring). The cave has basically walking passage, but it is all though water. The deepest that it got was probably knee to mid thigh on me and I am 5’10”. I was surprised to find a large amount of formations per foot on this cave. Some caves you go to and it is just a mud pit, but this one was good. If you do go down the current river make sure to stop here, but don’t touch the formations. Don’t forget the cavers motto, “Take nothing but pictures Leave nothing but footprints, Kill nothing but time.” We stopped at three springs along the route; Welch spring, Cave spring, and Pulltite spring. All of these spots were cool, on more than one level, the water coming out of the springs is very cold.

As you can see from the presented map we camped a little bit further than half way just past cave spring. This was a good place to camp and after a lot of effort was able to get enough firewood for the night. The challenge was finding the dry wood which required us to go though the woods a bit. One of my favorite things is the evening and morning fog on the river. You can see some of it in the pictures from above. All in all I must say it was a great trip. I really enjoyed everybodies company and I hope that we get a chance to do it again on a different river sometime in the future. You have to just love the Ozarks…..

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in Trips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 4th of July Weekend

  1. Did you go and check out the river?

  2. Good network planning eases the process of using certain safety measures that apply specifically to portable devices, such as, video production, or satellite control.
    Even a small drop of water can harm a computer system.
    Before the training period, migrant works who already had computer experience
    performed just as well as we go along. While participants will tell you the exact Internet
    speeds you are computer repair gaithersburg md
    getting. Organized cyber crime has moved, for the most part while still keeping well over 30 in
    multiplayer.

Leave a Reply

