Cant wait

Ok, so I know that it has been a while since my last post (for those who are actually reading this blog, you know who you are). Several things have happened since I made my last post including yet another attempt at doing a rope walking practice session which included a transition from ascension to rappelling, a very vital skill to have. I will blog about that later. What I wanted to mention today is something that I find interesting and more than anything funny. As you may have read in popular news syndication sites the city of Philadelphia in Pennsylvania has come up with the idea to place fake three dimensional paintings of speed bumps on the road. Now while this might seem like a good idea at the time, and will probably work in the short term. I have found that the human species is in fact intelligent, despite some evidence on the contrary, and will begin to associate these paintings with flat road surfaces. This becomes a repeat of the popular moral tale of the little boy who cried wolf. How long before somebody encounters a real speed bump but just assumes that it is flat road.

As an aside, lets check out the future of speed bumps. It seems that German inventors are working hard to keep all of our roads safe… |-)

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in Silly and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

