Why Not!

A while back I finally got into using iTunes as my way to get music.  While I had an iPod much earlier I had been able to successfully use Amarok to transfer music between my computer and the iPod.  This of course meant that I had to use less than noble ways of acquiring the music files to begin with.  The purchase of my iPhone (which I love and am addicted to) I made the transition.  I find that using iTunes in conjunction with the apple devices that I have to be a pleasure and bordering on addictive.  Here comes my grip and the real reason for this post.  Numerous times I have gone to download (and purchase of course) a song and not been able to find it.  After doing some research on these artists I find out that they oppose the use of iTunes.  Now my friends know that I am no stranger to standing up to the “Man”, I run Linux and basically shun Microsoft products based only on principle.  But lets look at what an artist would want.  I would think that he would want his message and music spread to as many open ears that were possible.  I understand that there are other download services, but, we all know that they all have their own different issues.  I am taken aback that there are artists that would refuse to allow their music to be sold though iTunes.

I do realize that there are also a lot of copyright issues and the such along with a large variety of other things that complicate the whole situation.  But look at the end result, I wanted a song, looked for legal ways to acquire that song and was left wanting.  So until those artists (yes, that is you Bob Seger) finally allow their music to be sold on iTunes I will just have to listen to them on the radio.  Come on people!  It is 2008, I should not have to get in my car to get music anymore.

(and no, that does not mean that I am lazy)

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Not!

  1. Pingback: iPhone - Tips and Tricks » Blog Archive » Why Not!

Leave a Reply

