My First Attempt at Pot Pie (beef)

Ok, so one of the things that I like to pretend to do from time to time is cook. Now baking has never been an issue for me but cooking a real dinner is a chore for me. Well, I have decided to attempt a beef pot pie. This came from inspiration from my brothers girlfriend, Christina, who made a chicken pot pie for my grandmother. So, I scoured the internet for information and finally landed on the following recipe:

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Beef-Pot-Pie-III/Detail.aspx

I must say that things went great. I did have to modify the instructions just a bit and instead of using one large pie crust I used small what seem to be 3″ pie pans that I found at Dillon’s. The following are a few pictures from my attempt.

These are really good…

Now you should notice that there are not vegies in there, and yes I do eat vegetables, just not many of them. I have included only beef (which was a diced tenderized sirloin) and potatoes which I had diced to about 1 to 1.5 cm dimensions. The one thing that I really found surprising (that I had never worked with) was the corn starch. Once I added this to the beef broth the magic happened. The mixture gelled just like it was supposed to! This was a fun dish to make (although long at just at 2.5 or 3 hours). I will definitly add this to my list of approved home cooked dinners.

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Attempt at Pot Pie (beef)

  1. Christina says:

    Hey Justace! Your mom and Ben both told me that I had to come and check out your blog about your Beef Pot Pie! That is so awesome!

  2. You were an inspiration…

  3. Priyanka says:

    “Yes I do eat vegetables” I really doubt this……

Leave a Reply

