Silver Dollar City’s New Rides

Well, it comes down to that time when you visit a theme park that you have been to and are not quite as physicked as you could be since you have ridden all the rides before, there is just nothing new, and that is what I thought was going to happen when I went to Silver Dollar City near Branson, Missouri…  But wait, what is this, two new rides! (and kind of rainy so there are no lines!)  The first is the new Giant Barn Swing.  Now I must say this is not just your neighbors barn swing, this is a monster!  I usually skip rides like this but I felt compelled to get on and ride.  The arm swings you 7 stories up into the air and gives you a feeling like you are weightless at the crest of its swing.  What a great ride.  I do feel sorry for the poor child whose parents were forcing him to ride.  He did not end up riding it but I do hope that one day he will dig into adventurous things.  The second new ride that I saw at the park was the new Power Keg roller coaster.  I have ridden many different coasters in my day but this one I walked away from and said, “I am blogging about this ride”.  How many times do you walk away from a ride and say that.  Just after boarding the ride the cars move forward and then laterally to the real track.  Here the coaster launches you with what seems to be high pressure air from 0 to 60 in less than 3 seconds.  The drops were great!  They gave you the feeling that you were going to fly off the track which made it all the better when sitting up in fount.  I did ride this twice in a row cause lets face it, once is just not enough for a ride like this. So, if you are in the Branson Missouri area and feel adventurous, go to Silver Dollar City and check out these rides along with the other cool stuff one might find there.

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in Silly, Trips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

