iPhone Troubles

If you had read my post yesterday you would know that I spent the day at Silver Dollar City. What you dont know from that post is that I dropped my iPhone. Now, I love my iPhone. It has been with me for a while now and we dont argue and fight (anymore, the jailbreaking caused some issues). Well, when it fell the power button got jammed and the phone would just power cycle repeatedly. This is a pain since you cant take the battery out of the iPhone easily. Doing this requires a deep breath some special tools and a soldering iron. I have really customized the software on the phone so taking it in to apple or AT&T is just out of the question for me. This left my only option as a self repair. The hardest thing to do on the iPhone I think is get the back cover off without the “special tool”. This took me several hours of using a feeler gauge, a putty knife, and a flat head screwdriver. Now there is obviously some disassembly before that which requires a Philips screwdriver (and a super small one at that) but that is not what made this experience memorable. Once I did get the back cover off I saw what was stopping me. This is the primary reason for this post. When taking off this back cover there are three places on each side of the iPhone where the frame has a small protrusion acting as a tab. The “special tool”, which is not related to the “special purpose” for those who have seen the Jerk, raises the outside cover off of these small tabs. So that is what you are contending with when taking this cover off. Make sure that you follow instructions on line about the dissassembly (which dont mention these tabs). I would also state that if you do take you phone to a bench grinder to remove burrs that you are very careful (and yes, I did this). If you are curious about whether I was able to get the jammed power button fixed, of course. Many small screws and shouted obscenities later I had a working power button assembly (not as good as factory though). All this might be for not though. The new iPhone should be coming out on Monday, and I will very strongly lean toward getting one. Increased memory, GPS, 3G… It would be amazing if Garmin ported their software to the iPhone, and TomTom also….

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to iPhone Troubles

  1. Pingback: iPhone - Tips and Tricks » Blog Archive » iPhone Troubles

  2. Danny says:

    Hey bud, dunno if you solved your problem. Mine is very similar and here is the quick fix. No need for a special tool at all. Take out your sim, place a sharp knife in only less than half an inch and pull gently towards you away from the screen. It will pop, then place the blade inside the sides to gently pull away and it acts as almost a door hinged. Then push up your power button with your blade and try to power on. If that does not work, no fret. A little surgery will be needed. Gently cut away at your power button to remove pressure from the metal frame. You will free your power button and it will go up and down as it once did and walla. It works again, no cycling. Hope that helps you.

  3. Well, I did get it fixed. but I kinda made the back not as pretty. I guess this means that I can not trade it in now… |-). Well, I was planning on buying the new iPhone so the bad back is not that big of a deal. But I think that I will wait to get the new iPhone. Got to pay insurance this month

  4. ishikajain says:

    iphone troubles jain blog

Leave a Reply

