KDE4! I Finally Got There

Well, it is now official.  I am running KDE 4 SVN as of today and I dont think that I will switch back to 3.5.  My poor laptop has been compiling for what seems like an eternity.  I am running Gentoo with the newer Paludis package manager (this is a requirement of the genkdesvn overlay for the live ebuilds)  I think that it is safe to say that it is not yet as polished as the KDE 3.5.x series but it certainly has come a long way since I last looked at it.  There are currently two or three silly hangups for me right now.  The first is the battery applet.  Currently I think that it is showing the battery left in my mouse instead of my laptop battery and there seemingly now way to change which battery it is reporting on.  There is also no way to change the ordering of the applets in the panel.  But that will come soon (I see in 4.2 from the other blogs).  Ok, so now for the required screenshot…..

KDE4 SVN Screenshoot as of Mar 29, 2008

In this screenshot I have the standard clock applet and trash applet running.  What I think is cool is the KGet applet telling you what your downloads are and the download progress.  That’s right, I am downloading work stuff…  In the lower left hand side you will see three instances of the picture applet which just grabs pictures from a directory at random and displays them.  I have this set to change the images every 30 minutes.  In addition to these applets are two instances of the folder applets.  These are cool.  They allow you to display the contents of a folder in the bounded and color offset regions.  The one on the right has my work CVS directory in it so that I can get to my analysis code quickly and the one on the left is my downloads region.  I can drag and drop from there right into the trash if I want to remove something (or I could just do it the quicker and old school way “rm -f <file>” which I prefer).  Left in the center is the cool krunner program.  This is what pops up when you hit <ALT>-F2 or select “Run Command” from the desktop context menu.  Here you can start to type a command and then all the programs that have that in the name will start to appear so that you can click on them.

One thing that I do have running that is not KDE on the desktop is compiz-fusion.  I just can not get away from it.  I know that KDE4 has its own effects built in, but they are not as polished as the effects from compiz-fusion.  So, in short, for a fun environment to work in I can recommend for the non-newbie user KDE4 SVN + compiz-fusion.

All this is nice and everything, and I really digg it, but to be honest, the first thing I do when I sit down is open a terminal…

About Justace Clutter

I am currently a Physics graduate student at the University of Kansas. My enphasis is High Energy Experiment and as such am currently working at the D0 experiment at Fermilab near Chicago. My undergraduate was accomplished at Southwest Missouri State University (now MSU) in Springfield, Mo. I also compleated 5 years of active duty in the Air Force just after high school.
This entry was posted in KDE, Linux and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KDE4! I Finally Got There

  1. sheytan says:

    Hi, i see that You are using the 1920×1200 resoultion. I’m gonna buy new LCD with that native res. So i want to ask You: does it works right? And what Linux distro are Ya using?

    btw: KDE ROX 😀

    thx

Leave a Reply

